Days 41-44

This is the second time that I’m writing this post because my computer teamed up with wordpress to really frustrate me. As I was getting ready to publish the first post, my computer randomly shut down on me and wordpress decided to not automatically save my draft for me. So here is my past four days, again.

Monday we had class on the topics of education in South Africa as well as the future of South Africa. South Africa is at a really interesting point right now. They could easily continue to develop and move forward, or they could easily go the way of Zimbabwe. It should be interesting to see which direction they go, but I really do hope its the former. Three ladies that I work with from the PSP came into class on Monday. They told my roommates/classmates of the work the PSP does, much better than I could. Every employee of the PSP is so passionate and all really care about making the Western Cape a more educated place. As they were talking I realized that these are the heroes of the world. They don’t get the fame or the riches, but they do get the satisfaction of knowing that their cause is just and important to make Cape Town a better place to live. These are the unsung heroes, the true life changers.

Tuesday was our seventh and last interview. She was, as the six teachers before here, extremely nice and willing to tell her story in much detail. She asked if we could make the interview 15 minutes and we obliged, though we would like for the interviews to be a bit longer so that we have more to work off of. However, every time I asked her a question she would really express herself and go into a lot of detail. The 15 minute interview she wanted actually turned out to be an hour long interview!

Wednesday I finished up my last case study. I sent it to some of the ladies at work to look over it and make any corrections that they saw fit. I have done three case studies so now I’m finished. I’m sure I’ll make a few more changes to the last one, but for the most part I’m done with the bulk of writing. The next two weeks will be a lot of formatting for the book that all seven case studies are going into. These past four weeks have been fairly busy. Between conducting the interviews as well as typing them up have given us a lot to do. Now that the bulk of the project is wrapped up we may be ‘clicking our heels’ a bit more than we are accustomed to. I’ll try to stay busy though and I’m sure the ladies at work will give me plenty to do.

Thursday I made some changes to my final case study. It will probably be the last time I look at it until I see it again in the final product. I’m real excited to see the book when it is finished and finally published. The PSP said they would send me a copy in the mail so that I can see it when it is done. I want to show everyone what I worked on while I was here in Cape Town.

Saturday is shark cage diving with Great Whites!

Leave a comment